Tag Archives: Winter2017

The 100th AEJMC Annual Conference, 2017 Paper Call

Closing the Gap: Media, Research and the Profession

2017 Paper Call

The Communication Technology Division encourages research submissions where the central focus is technology and changes in the communication process resulting from technology. The division welcomes theoretical and conceptual papers as well as a diversity of methodological approaches from both faculty and students.

Student Paper Competition: Papers solely authored by students are especially encouraged. These papers are eligible to be entered for the Jung-Sook Lee Student Paper competition. The Jung-Sook Lee Award recognizes the best student paper, which makes “a substantial contribution to the substance or method on a topic related to communication technology.” The award honors the division’s 1997-1998 research chair, Jung-Sook Lee of the University of Southwestern Louisiana, who died soon after the 1998 conference. Authors of the top three student papers will receive a cash award. In addition, the author of the best student paper will have his or her conference registration fee paid by the division. For a paper to be considered for this award, ALL authors must be undergraduate or graduate students enrolled during the 2016-2017 academic year. Papers submitted by student-only authors must type “Jung-Sook Lee Competition” on the title page to be considered for the award.

Faculty Paper Competition: The division is pleased to present the annual Gene Burd Top Faculty Research Paper Award, made possible by the generosity of Prof. Burd from the University of Texas – Austin. The $1,000 award recognizes the best faculty paper submitted to the division. For a paper to be considered for this award at least one of the authors must be faculty. To be eligible, authors must indicate “faculty submission” on the title page.

Winners of both awards will receive their prize and be recognized at the conference. Submissions that do not win recognition in the Jung-Sook Lee Award or the Gene Burd Award are still considered for acceptance along with open competition submissions.

Please limit papers to no more than 30 pages (double-spaced) in length, including title page, abstract, tables, figures, references, and notes. Papers should follow the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th edition), have 1-inch margins, and use 12 point Times New Roman, Times or Arial font. Abstracts must be no more than 75 words. The title should be on the first page with page numbers and running heads on each page of text. Be sure that submissions contain no identifying information, such as name, university affiliation, job title, etc., either in the text of the paper or in the document properties. Please be sure to submit a clean paper without author identifying information, otherwise the paper will be disqualified. Please refer to AEJMC’s uniform paper call on how to upload clean papers.

If you have any questions or require more information about the submission process, please contact Pamela Brubaker, CTEC research chair, at pamela_brubaker@byu.edu.

Paper Call


Best of the Web 2017 Competition

This year’s deadline is right around the corner. For those of you who may be unfamiliar with this competition, here’s an overview of the contest guidelines, how to apply, and some examples from last year’s winners.

How to submit:

The competition website will launch around March 8 and will be located here: http://www.bestofweb17.com/ Submission deadline is April 16, 2017.

What is Best of the Web?

The competition is an annual web and app design contest co-sponsored by the Communication Technology and Visual Communication Divisions of the Association for Education in Journalism & Mass Communication (AEJMC). Web or app entries submitted to this competition must advance education or research in journalism and/or mass communication. The contest is open to faculty and students who work for or attend an institution that is accredited by AEJMC, or are current members of AEJMC.


Projects may be entered in one of four categories:

  • Individual/Team/Single class designation for web and app

The individual/team/single class categories consist of entries that have been designed and created by an individual, a small team or a single class.

  • Multiple class/Institution designation for web and app

The multiple class/institution categories consist of entries that have been designed and created by several classes collaborating on a single project or by a school or department collaborating on a single project.

Web and app design professionals and academics with a background in web and app design technology will be judging the competition. Judging primarily focuses on the design, presentation and technological components of the project.

Examples of last year’s winners
As the first place winner in the individual/team/single class website category, Dome 35 takes a comprehensive look at Syracuse University’s Carrier Dome, one of the best-known collegiate stadiums in the country, during its 35th year of operations. The site showcases the work of 25 junior, senior and graduate student journalists enrolled in the Newhouse School’s Web Journalism & Innovation class.

Their projects revolve around five main topics: sports, people, the building, events and community. Content explored in the class and used in the project includes 360-degree video, time-lapse video, social-media engagement, and data scraping, analysis and visualization.

In the multiple class/institution category, the Memphis Mirror website is a project of the Multimedia News Lab, the capstone news journalism class at the University of Memphis. According to the website, the “goal of the project is to hold a mirror to the city of Memphis and reflect the various cultures, religions, identities, abilities and truths the city has to offer.” The project uses audio, video, maps, photography and infographics.

Please spread the word among your colleagues and students and encourage them to submit entries. If anyone has questions, I’m available via email at szake@kent.edu.

See you in Chicago!

Susan Zake

2017 CTEC Chair, Best of the Web

Letter from the Division Head

Hello everyone,

It has been a busy year for Communication Technology Division.

The first update is about the CTEC journal. Several past CTEC heads has been working on the journal. Past Head Jacob Groshek continues to work on the journal and is setting up the website to receive submissions. Second, Vice Head Jessica Smith has worked with several divisions to put together some fantastic panels for the annual meeting.

We had a great response to the MidWinter conference call and Cindy Vincent, our MidWinter Chair has worked diligently for a fabulous meeting in March.

We have been able to keep in touch digitally via Facebook and Twitter and I hope you will continue to stay part of the conversation.  We are always grateful for the service you provide to the division as reviewers and discussants, and for your involvement in our presentations. Thank you all so much.


Porismita Borah CTEC-Head

Assistant Professor, Edward R. Murrow College of Communication

Washington State University